Sarah Beise at SURTEX !

Hi Sarah… tell us a little about the SURTEX SHOW generally….what is it?

SURTEX is a marketplace for sourcing original art and design for a variety of products.  Basically licensing for art and design!

Beise Sarah b

Where is it and when?

NYC at the Javits Center each spring. At the same time SURTEX is happening at Javits the National Stationary Show and ICFF (International Contemporary Furniture Fair) are taking place.  Busy place!

Beise SURTEX 2017

Who is SURTEX for specifically?

It is where artists, illustrators, surface and textile designers, art agents, and design studios come together and connect with manufacturers and retailers to create the best product for all kinds of categories.

How do you display your talent?

Each year I introduce a variety of new images and collections for both everyday and seasonal products.  I have new panels every year (roughly at 3×7 feet) printed with my new collections of imagery….cross my fingers and toes….and try to get enough sleep to be prepared for 3 solid days of talking , smiling and negotiating.  I have to admit those 3 days are some of my favorite days of the year but a bit of a struggle for this introvert!

Beise 2017 booth

How does one get involved and what is the cost range of the booths?

You can find most of this information at http://www.surtex.com

SURTEX is a very expensive show!  So…I highly recommend before exhibiting that you DO YOUR RESEARCH! I always suggest walking the show the year before you plan on exhibiting.

How many years have you participated?

I wandered into the art licensing business in 2003 and started exhibiting at the Licensing International Expo.  5 years later I expanded adding SURTEX.  I then did both shows until 2013 when I started exhibiting exclusively SURTEX.  (have to note that one year early on  I accompanied Sarah for the 3 days and was EXHAUSTED! but inspired!  I did realize however that I didn’t have enough days in the week to get into this market as an agent as well as children’s.) 

Have you had success with it?

I have!! But it totally ebbs and flows from year to year.  Over the years I have enjoyed seeing my licensed art used on a variety of products. Gift bags, Tissue paper, Gift wrap; Greeting cards and postcards etc.; Paper gift boxes; Paper party units (plates, cups, napkins, balloons, invitations, party hats, banners..); Candy tins; Stickers; Fabric; Holiday yard ornaments; puzzles’ games’ wall decals for kids rooms’ Backpacks’ Coffee cups’ garden flags, printed edible cake decorating.  wow!!!!

Beise Surtex Ad

 

Exhibiting at SURTEX has always been a highlight of my year.  At times it is almost like a class reunion ! I have met so many kind and wonderfully creative people that have become good friends. After all the months of stress working on creating new collections of art and investing time and money…coming together once a year with my licensing pals in NYC is the BEST!  I am always a little sad when it is over.

Beise Cheesecake

party time?!  worth the 3 days….LOL

Thank you Sarah. for sharing your experience with SURTEX with us.  I can certainly see how it draws you back each year! And how it’s been so profitable as well.  Keep it up!

(note:  Sarah has been a CAT Agency artist since 2002!  amazingly creative!!)

 

 

About catugeau

art agent
This entry was posted in Agency News, artist information, artist interviews, Artists Q&A, interviews, SURTEX, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

