“Little Bitty” CB Review / Barton interview!

Illustration-Inspiration_-Patrice-Barton-Illustrator-of-Little-Bitty-Friends from Children’s Book Review blog

Patrice Barton’s artistic talents were discovered at age three when she was found creating a mural on the wall of her dining room with a pastry brush and a can of Crisco. She earned a BFA in studio art from the University of Texas in Austin. Patrice lives in Cedar Park, Texas.

Latest published book …

Little Bitty Friends by Elizabeth McPike, published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons, February 2, 2016

Inspired by …

My main inspiration was my son when he was a toddler. It brought a flood of memories. Just like the toddlers in this book, with him, every day was full of new discoveries; bugs, flowers, and animals. I tried to capture that sense of wonder and joy in the art.

Art medium used …

For sketching, I used a number 2B pencil on design vellum and a Moo eraser. The vellum has a nice tooth, gives a nice tug against the pencil. Also it has a bright, clean contrast to the graphite.

barton sketch bw  (unsaveable)

For color, I’m digital. I scan in my pencil sketches, then use Corel Painter to paint. I also scan in bits of paper, textures, watercolor, etc into my illustrations. Always experimenting.

barton sketch color

tent friend BARTON

Artistic process …

I began by reading the manuscript over and over, letting it simmer. Next I plastered my studio wall with pictures of toddlers – my son, niece, nephews and cousins. Then I sketched toddlers…dozens of toddlers, to get a feel for them. Thumbnail sketches came next, focusing on page layout. Then, I sketched out the first roughs and scanned them into my computer. I sized them in Photoshop, then added shading/value in Painter. I sent these roughs to the art director for approval. The final art is completed in Painter.

Favorite place to create & illustrate …

My studio, it has excellent lighting. And all my supplies are there! I have lots of room to spread out, make a mess, and experiment.

Most used art supply or tool …

The art supply I use most is a 2B pencil. The digital tool I use most is my Wacom tablet and stylus.

Illustrator idols …

I have far too many to name!! A few of my favorites are Melissa Sweet, David Small, LeUyen Pham, Yuyi Morales, Oliver Jeffers, Gabi Swiatkowska, Garth Williams, Holly Hobbie. One thing I love about the children’s market is the celebration of so many different illustration styles. Keeps it very fresh.

All-time favorite children’s book you didn’t illustrate…

The first book I ever owned, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss. It launched my love of picture books. I still have it!

A literary character to create art with …

Louise from Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light. How fun would that be, drawing with Louise? Her enthusiasm is infectious.

Currently working on …

A picture book, The Hello Goodbye Dog by Maria Gianferrari, published by Roaring Brook Press and a chapter book, The Year of the Garden by Andrea Cheng, published by HMH Books for Young Readers

Connect with Patrice Barton …

PatriceBarton.com | Twitter
Patrice Barton’s artistic talents were discovered at age three when she was found creating a mural on the wall of her dining room with a pastry brush and a can of Crisco. She earned a BFA in studio art from the University of Texas in Austin. Patrice lives in Cedar Park, Texas.

Latest published book …

Little Bitty Friends by Elizabeth McPike, published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons, February 2, 2016

Inspired by …

My main inspiration was my son when he was a toddler. It brought a flood of memories. Just like the toddlers in this book, with him, every day was full of new discoveries; bugs, flowers, and animals. I tried to capture that sense of wonder and joy in the art.

Art medium used …

For sketching, I used a number 2B pencil on design vellum and a Moo eraser. The vellum has a nice tooth, gives a nice tug against the pencil. Also it has a bright, clean contrast to the graphite.

barton sketch bw

For color, I’m digital. I scan in my pencil sketches, then use Corel Painter to paint. I also scan in bits of paper, textures, watercolor, etc into my illustrations. Always experimenting.

barton sketch color

Artistic process …

I began by reading the manuscript over and over, letting it simmer. Next I plastered my studio wall with pictures of toddlers – my son, niece, nephews and cousins. Then I sketched toddlers…dozens of toddlers, to get a feel for them. Thumbnail sketches came next, focusing on page layout. Then, I sketched out the first roughs and scanned them into my computer. I sized them in Photoshop, then added shading/value in Painter. I sent these roughs to the art director for approval. The final art is completed in Painter.

Favorite place to create & illustrate …

My studio, it has excellent lighting. And all my supplies are there! I have lots of room to spread out, make a mess, and experiment.

Most used art supply or tool …

The art supply I use most is a 2B pencil. The digital tool I use most is my Wacom tablet and stylus.

Illustrator idols …

I have far too many to name!! A few of my favorites are Melissa Sweet, David Small, LeUyen Pham, Yuyi Morales, Oliver Jeffers, Gabi Swiatkowska, Garth Williams, Holly Hobbie. One thing I love about the children’s market is the celebration of so many different illustration styles. Keeps it very fresh.

All-time favorite children’s book you didn’t illustrate…

The first book I ever owned, One Fish Two Fish Red Fish Blue Fish by Dr. Seuss. It launched my love of picture books. I still have it!

A literary character to create art with …

Louise from Louise Loves Art by Kelly Light. How fun would that be, drawing with Louise? Her enthusiasm is infectious.

Currently working on …

A picture book, The Hello Goodbye Dog by Maria Gianferrari, published by Roaring Brook Press and a chapter book, The Year of the Garden by Andrea Cheng, published by HMH Books for Young Readers

Connect with Patrice Barton …

PatriceBarton.com | Twitter

About catugeau

art agent
This entry was posted in artist information, artist interviews, Artists Q&A, Children's Publishing Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Little Bitty” CB Review / Barton interview!

  1. Love her! Such unique and endearing images.

  2. Love Patrice’s work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

