SCBWI NJ conference… OH YEAH!

 

In a tropical storm downpour last Fri. my husband and I set out from Wmbrg VA to Princeton NJ and the NJ SCBWI conference this past weekend.  And oh so glad I did!  I’d been asked to present two sessions there and do portfolio reviews.  Having been there in past years, I knew the level of talent in that group, so was happy to be included.  They are a special bunch of industry professionals, and what a nice job of organizing a LARGE group they did too!  It was Leeza Hernandez and team’s first in the RA position as Kathy Temean, previous (10 yrs!!!) RA said in so many words: KUDOS!

and here Kathy and I (left) are…check out her ‘Writing and Illustrating’ Wordpress BLOG if you haven’t.  She has such a big smile because she DIDN’T organize this one!  lol

kathy T and me NJ 6 13

I always enjoy seeing and catching up with editors and AD’s there also presenting, and meeting writers and artists I perhaps haven’t previously known.   Always inspiring. Here is another photo of one of my favorite people Steve Meltzer from Dutton/Dial/Penguin.  A smart and dear man! ” a good writer is a good reader….and rewriter!” Goes for art too!

Steve and me NJ 6-13

Peter Brown’s keynote on Sat AM was just such fun…as is HE!  and his wonderfully illustrated books. (and now I have a signed bag with his illustrations on it! thanks guys!)  Sat. I presented about how I use ART as my HOOK to throw my ‘line’ into various ‘ponds’ to ‘capture’ assignments for my group… well, it is SUMMAH’ time! Hope I was helpful.  I also saw wonderful art in my critiques and perhaps might add an artist from the experience…we’ll see!

Sunday morning Tara Lazar spoke about her journey to publication (YA) and was quite inspiring about forget the excuses to NOT WRITE and just do it! Basically, if you ARE a writer, (or artist) that activity can help you through life’s surprises and challenges and fuel your creativity!

My artist and friend Melissa Iwai and her husband Denis Markell (also friend!) and I gave a presentation Sunday about the ‘road to publication’ using their book HUSH LITTLE MONSTER from Little Simon as a fun and interesting example of the bumpy road it can take!  It ended up almost ‘earning out’ it’s first season out last Fall!  Their young son Jamie was there too and taking notes!  I think I see a future editor/writer/artist in the making there!  Wish I had a photo… I don’t THINK sometimes…but hopefully they’ll have one and include it in Melissa’s blog… thehungryartist.wordpress.com !!!check that out too. If you like food and illustration, you’ll enjoy it.

So there we are….. tired but inspired!  (a title of a book?)  and as I told the group at end of my presentation…. HAPPY FISHING!

About catugeau

art agent
This entry was posted in Agency News, Image Share, industry tips, personal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SCBWI NJ conference… OH YEAH!

  1. Ha ha — it was great seeing you–
    but my blog is: thehungryartist.wordpress.com !!!

  2. Lorraine Dey says:

    Chris, It was great to see you again. The SCBWI conference was awesome. And I was actually able to get through my first workshop presentation ever! Whew! It was a lot of fun. I hope your husband was able to ride his bike on Sunday in the Princeton Tour De Cure. It was a beautiful day for it. 🙂

  3. So glad many people are blogging about this conference for those of us who weren’t able to be there.:) BTW, love your blog title!!!!

  4. :Donna Marie says:

    Great pics, Chris, and so glad you and your husband arrived safely! 🙂

Leave a Reply

