classic..”TRUCK STOP” launch….

A wonderful truck book for boys and girls is being released this week…DO take a look and enjoy.  I’ve ‘borrowed’ the blurb from Melissa Iwai’s blog here…about the book and author and, for some, a surprising fact about the collaboration process.  Congratulations Melissa and Anne ….it’s a most fun result of a growing friendship!

Coming soon May 2013!

I’m thrilled to announce the release of TRUCK STOP, written by Anne Rockwell and illustrated by moi!!  The official Viking pub date is this Thursday, but we are kicking off our blog tour today.  TRUCK STOP is a fun picture book for young kids that celebrates all the different trucks and their drivers who gather for breakfast every day at the young narrator’s family’s truck stop diner.

When I first was offered the manuscript in 2011, I was so excited to see it was written by Anne.  I’ve been a big fan for a long time.  She`s written over 100 children’s books for all ages, on topics ranging from boats, history, mythology, to the first day of school, bugs, to the seasons.  Go check out her collection of books here!  Needless to say, I didn’t need much time to think it over and said “yes” to my editor immediately.

Most people don’t realize it, but usually the author and illustrator don’t meet or collaborate at all on the book.  Exceptions are made, of course, if they are married, related, or perhaps have worked together in the past.  So it was such a pleasure last week when I finally had the opportunity to meet Anne in person.  We had been corresponding via Facebook  for the past year after I turned the artwork in (yes, it takes a year for a book to be printed!)

About catugeau

art agent
This entry was posted in Agency News, Book Launch, Image Share, industry tips, interviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to classic..”TRUCK STOP” launch….

  1. susanmiller1 says:

    I will be excited to see this book, I had the pleasure of meeting Melissa last year, I love her work.

  2. Great looking cover art Melissa! I’ll be buying this one – way to go!

  3. Thanks, Kelly and Susan!

    Somehow I missed this post, Chris!
    Thanks!
    M

Leave a Reply

